A (Belated) Happy New Year!

Happy New Year, friends!

2016 is in the books and with 2017 in full swing, I feel like I’ve had little time to sit still. I happy-new-yearhope your new year has started off with a bang. This is my annual post where I take a moment to examine my 2016 Nerd Goals and take stock of what I want to accomplish in 2017. Let’s see how I stacked up against last year’s goals and set goals for the new year.

2016 Nerd Goals Assessment and 2017 Goals

  1. Read 50 books. SUCCESS! I successfully managed to read 66/50 books, so I exceeded my goal by 16 books. This included work for class, audio books, pleasure reading, graphic novels, and 1 reread (Ready Player One).
    1. 2017 Goal: Read 50 books and this year’s issues of The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. Since I’ve now officially started my thesis(!), I will be doing a lot of reading for my thesis work, particularly this spring. I also found it beneficial to do some pleasure reading to help my brain decompress and relax last year, so I’ll be doing that again. Additionally, my in-laws gifted me a subscription to The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction for Christmas this year, so I’m looking forward to diving into that. I’ve made myself a daily schedule, which includes time for thesis and pleasure reading. If you’re on GoodReads, you can still connect with me there to see what I’m reading.
  2. Write consistently. MEH. I did not meet my goal of blogging weekly, largely due to an extremely difficult course load, but I did hit somewhere near monthly. I missed 4 months of writing on this blog, but I also completed 3 posts on other my favorite blog, The Retroist. That puts me just shy of monthly blogging. That’s much lower than what I’d ultimately like to do, but considering my heavy course load, I think monthly is a much more doable goal.  BTW, I still pay the bills largely by helping others manage their social media and blogging. Let me know how I can help you with that.
    1. 2017 Goal: Write on my blog and The Retroist monthly. I love writing my blog, as well as for The Retroist, so writing 1 post for each site monthly is a good baseline for me. I want to write more if I am able. Do you have a site you’d like me to write for? If so, please drop me a note at the contact link. By the way, you can keep track of everything I write for The Retroist site by following this link. You also have permission to bug me about the lack of content here. I don’t mind encouragement!
  3. Retro gaming. MEH. I only completed one game last year, The Legend of the Dragoon, for PS1. I have acquired a few more games and have enjoyed playing some classics. I’ve had fun playing Spider-man: Maximum Carnage on my Sega Genesis this year. I enjoy side-scrolling beat-em ups because they take me back to my youth, but I’ve always had a soft spot for Spidey. That makes the game fun for me. 
    1. 2017 Goal: Play video games/board games weekly. I recently traded several old toys and collectibles in at a neat store in my hometown called Retro Artifacts for an Atari 7800. I still haven’t gotten to set it up yet, but I’m looking forward to giving my copies of Joust! and Robotron: 2084 a go. My husband and I love tabletop gaming as well, so playing games together is always a good choice.
  4. Fill in the gaps in my film/television “Nerd Knowledge.” SUCCESS! While I don’t know that I’ll ever “finish” the gaps in my nerd knowledge, 2016 was indeed a banner year for geeking out. I fell in love with Stranger Things this year, not only because it’s such a wonderful story, but because it is a representation of so many things I love and has struck a chord with a broader audience outside of geek/nerd culture. I have hopes and plans for cosplaying as Eleven at a con or two this year. I also got to see a lot of retro horror films this year, which really helped to round out my gap there, particularly with John Carpenter’s work. I also got caught up on all the latest Marvel series and films, so I’m very happy about that. Additionally, I finished The X-Files in time for the 10th season (which I enjoyed and am hopeful for another).
    1. 2017 Goal: Stay caught up on fandoms I love. With 3 new Marvel series to look forward to this year, another season of Stranger Things, Star Trek: Discovery, and more, I’m not sure I’ll have much time to add a whole lot of new shows/films to my plate. I’m already about halfway through Westworld and there’s another season of Game of Thrones coming up. I also plan to submit an abstract for a book of essays on Orphan Black this summer, so I’ll need to do a rewatch and catch the final season this spring. That’s a lot of TV on top of my thesis work, but considering my focus is on geek culture studies, perhaps some of this can be considered, “homework”?
  5. Make time for myself. MEH. As I suspected, this goal proved the most challenging for me. I did a little better about making time for myself, but saying no is still difficult, especially as many of my friends are introverted. When an introvert invites you out, you should always say yes! I am carving out a little time each day to do fun and relaxing things for myself, like reading and gaming for fun. I don’t have a specific night of the week carved out for myself as “me time,” but I will be working on that soon.
    1. 2017 Goal: Self-care night and exercise daily. In addition to having one night a week as a “self-care” night, I want to be fitter. I watch all these superhero films/shows and I see my heroes doing cool feats of physical prowess, and not necessarily of the supernatural kind either! Being able to do flips, run and fight in strength, swing a sword, etc.–those are all things I can’t do right now in my health and physical condition. In typically nerd fashion, I am exceptionally athletically challenged, so just about all my experiences with exercise are associated with shame. As an adult, finding time to be active is difficult, especially with work and school keeping me behind a computer, but I’ve decided that my weekday mornings will be filled with 45-60 minutes of exercise. My computer is in “lock-out” mode (think Wade in Ready Player One) until I do so. My pal Hope has been my workout buddy for a couple mornings a week each week, so that’s helped a lot. I’m planning to do at least 30 minutes of cardio and then 15-30 of some weight training/body weight exercises. I’ve been invited to be in a wedding, so that’s another good motivating factor for me too. I’d love recommendations on fitness things that have worked for you.

There you have it–my 2016 goal update and my 2017 goals. What do you plan to do this year? How do you plan to make it happen?

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Books, Comic Books, Video Games, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A (Belated) Happy New Year!

  1. hanxolo says:

    Where has this blog been all my life??..
    Nice write up, basically explains me..My goals for 2017 are:
    1..Become a ruby on rails master (the kind of master other masters call master)
    2..blog twice a week..(my schedule is pretty choked up with web development projects so i hardly find time to breathe talkless of blogging).
    3..make more money than i made last year..
    4..spend and cherish good and happy moments with my loved ones..
    5..make sure i achieve 1 to 4 above by breaking up with my bae “procastination”..lol

    • Let me tell you, “procrastination” is a heartless bae and will trip you up at every available opportunity! I’ve had a difficult time kicking it to the curb myself, but I’m improving. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Glad to have you!

Leave a Reply

