Happy Halloween and Happy Reformation Day!

I’ve got a confession to make.

I’m a Christian that loves Halloween. martin-luther

Unabashedly. Unashamedly.

I look for excuses to wear costumes, but Halloween seems to be one of the only times that it’s socially acceptable to walk around in costume all day. My childhood Halloween memories were always positive, trick-or-treating with my sister and occasionally my cousins. My teenage and college years were filled with fun parties, good-natured laughter, my favorite Halloween specials, and the occasional horror flick. I love seeing the creativity and imagination that goes into thinking up a costume and pulling it off. I love candy, pumpkin beer, and I’ve recently acquired a taste for horror films, though mostly of the mystery-thriller sort.

As a believer, particularly of the reformed variety, I also am grateful for the courage of Martin Luther. His 95 theses have shaped my faith, as well as those of many before me. I think this quote from him that C. S. Lewis opens with in The Screwtape Letters has a particular poignancy for me, especially on this day.

“The best way to drive out the devil, if he will not yield to texts of Scripture, is to jeer and flout him, for he cannot bear scorn.”

The devil doesn’t own this day. He doesn’t own anything. He’s defeated in the resurrection of Jesus Christ. I spend the evening laughing and celebrating my freedom and liberty in Christ. So if you celebrate Halloween in good conscience, dress up. Hand out candy. Laugh with your friends. Love your neighbor. Watch your favorite Halloween specials and films. Rejoice in your freedom in Christ. Trounce the devil with your laughter.

“…for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.” – 2 Timothy 1:7

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Deeper Things and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

