In the Night, My Hope Lives On

Normally I post something fun, witty, and nerdy here on my blog.

Today, I am simply too sad for that.

My Grandma passed a week ago, a friend lost her Grandma two nights ago, another friend and mentor lost her husband in a tragic accident on Saturday, and a couple at my church lost a 7 month-old baby to a heart defect on Sunday. Aside from my personal tragedies, the evil committed in Brussels today is infuriating and heartbreaking. How does humanity press on in spite of personal tragedy, loss, and acts of evil?

So in the night, my Hope lives on. 

Hope is seen clearest not in the best of circumstances, but in the worst. I have hope that one day, these tragedies will cease to exist because of the resurrected Jesus Christ.

The gates of hell will never stand against Him, so in the night, my Hope lives on.

In light of the Easter celebrations this coming weekend, I pray that you have hope. I only have hope that through my sadness, through the darkness my friends are facing, and through the evil being perpetrated throughout the world, that those who love justice, truth, and mercy will prevail.

In the night, my hope lives on.

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
Video | This entry was posted in Deeper Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the Night, My Hope Lives On

Leave a Reply

