Progress

In the time-frame since my last post, I’ve done better at some of my 2016 goals than others. Shortly after my last post, I was blindsided by two weeks of bronchitis. Last week was spent catching up from bronchitis. Here I am now!

#LastWordBookHaul

My latest haul from my favorite local used bookstore.

My reading, retro gaming, and nerd knowledge goals have all progressed steadily, though none as quick as I’d like. You can check my progress on GoodReads here. As for retro gaming, I’ve had fun playing a couple RPGs on NES and my original Gameboy.

As I mentioned in my last post, I thought I had until summer to catch up on The X-Files. That information is INCORRECT! I’ve been scrambling to finish the original series so I can catch up on the new one, which by all accounts is fabulous. I just started season 9 last night, so I feel confident that I’ll be able to start the new series by next week. Once that’s finished, my husband wants me to watch Fringe with him. I’ve seen a handful of episodes and I’m a big fan of J. J. Abrams, so I’m looking forward to watching from the beginning. He’s already watched the series, but was very adamant about a rewatch. As you can see, I also picked up some new-to-me TV with Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles, mostly because I want to see Lena Headey play a character I don’t hate. Also, Summer Glau as a Terminator is a pretty fun idea. This will also allow me to have completed all the films and TV in the Terminator canon. My completionist tendencies will be very satisfied once I do that. I’ve seen seasons 1 & 2 of Orphan Black, but haven’t seen season 3 yet. Any Clone Club sestras here? Don’t spoil me, please, but I plan to get my paws on season 3 soon.

As for my writing and self-care goals, I hope to be able to keep writing here once a week. Again, bug me if I don’t! I also had a blog post go up today on the Mythgard site (my grad school), where I compiled a list of calls for papers, with the aid of fellow Mythgardians, Kris and Curtis. If you’re interested in fantasy, science fiction, medieval literature, and/or television, you should definitely check it out. On the subject of my self-care goals, we had originally planned to be out of town this weekend, but unfortunately our plans changed. The silver lining to that though is that I have a very rare Saturday off. I plan to do some things to take care of my apartment and to do some cooking, which is always a good stress reliever for me.

What have you been up to this winter? What goals are you working on? Anything fun going on in your neck of the woods?

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Books, DVD, Movie, TV, Video Games, Work, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

