Halloween Podcast Recommendation: Saturday Frights

Artwork by Sean Hartter

Artwork by Sean Hartter

About two years ago, I undertook the happy task of listening to every single episode (2009 to the present) of The Retroist Podcast. Being a podcast junkie, this took me just about all of the summer of 2013 (there were well over 100 episodes at that time). It’s quickly become my favorite podcast; I never miss an episode. I’ve always been a nostalgia addict, even as a little kid. The Retroist blog and podcast has helped feed that addiction. The Retroist Team has since branched out and now boast podcasts on classic coin-op arcade games, old time radio shows, and retro horror film/television. The latter is called Saturday Frights. As I’ve mentioned on this blog before, I’m not a huge fan of the horror genre. My mind is very image averse, but I’ve always found it fascinating to research and learn about horror films and television. This strange little facet of my brain gets tickled every time I tune in. So, if you like horror, have a love/hate relationship with horror (like me), or just enjoy retro film and television, you’ll want to subscribe to Saturday Frights.

Vic Sage, one of nicest people I’ve ever met on the internet, and the mysterious Projectionist take a classic horror film or television episode and give the listener a brief plot summary, talk about the people in front of and behind the camera, and offer production details on the film. They’ve hit everything from episodes of The Twilight ZoneNight Gallery, and Ray Bradbury Theater to lesser known horror films like Re-Animator, GargoyleDark Night of the Scarecrow, and classics like The Invisible Man. For someone like me who dips their toe in the water of the horror genre, this has proven a great way to acquaint myself with horror without watching a bunch of slasher movies that will leave my wild imagination nightmare-ridden.

Saturday Frights makes a perfect addition to your Halloween listening line-up. It’s fun, spooky, and is a great way to find something new for your Halloween viewing pleasure.

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in DVD, Movie, Podcast, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

