Halloween Film Review: Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho

PsychoI continue my Halloween nostalgia series with a few words on my favorite of Alfred Hitchcock’s films, Psycho. I was maybe 10 years old or so when I first saw Psycho. My cousin and I were having a sleepover on Christmas night, and as was our tradition, we watched a random movie, typically not holiday themed. In a series of unexplainable events, Psycho was the choice for the evening. I was never too scared watching Psycho, and was honestly delighted at the end. This film was also my introduction to Hitchcock. I’ve never been a huge fan of horror, but that film made me a fan of Alfred Hitchcock. During October, I especially enjoy exploring his other works.

Three years ago, I had the pleasure of introducing my husband to Psycho. Somehow he’d made it through life 1) having not seen Psycho, and 2) having not been spoiled on the ending! He was floored, freaked out, and impressed by the film. The shots, the cast, and Hitchcock’s signature shadowy villain shots captured his imagination and recaptured mine.

This is a classic truly worth watching and it still holds up over time. The horror genre has slowly grown on me over the past few years. I’m not one for slasher films, but I love the suspense horror that Hitchcock steeps into his work. I’d love recommendations for other works by Hitchcock I should watch and other works in the suspense horror vein.

I won’t say too much more on the film, as I would certainly hate to spoil you on it. This is a film worth watching without pre-googling or googling during the film. Alfred Hitchcock insisted that once the film started you must not leave the theater; you must enjoy the film from start to finish. And when you finish, don’t tell the ending.

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in DVD, Movie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

