Halloween Special Review: It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!

It's the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!Just about every holiday of the year has a Peanuts special to go along with it. Halloween is no different. This is a special that needs no introduction.

It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! is on my watch list every Halloween season. I’ve adored the Peanuts comic strips and specials my entire life. The Peanuts characters are the embodiment of childhood for me. There’s something comforting about having them with me every holiday season. I think that’s why they always gain a spot on my watch list every Halloween.

I’ve always related to the hapless Charlie Brown–often feeling left out and excluded, but ultimately still loved. I get clumsy with scissors too, so it would be unsurprising to me if I made a ghost costume with 1000 holes too. There are a few things that really make this special, well, special for me.

  1. The music. The music for all the Peanuts specials is just iconic. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! is no different. I’ve always enjoyed the music, but as I’ve gotten older and gained some musical knowledge, specifically in jazz as a sax player, I’ve gained an even greater appreciation for Vince Guaraldi’s scores. I’ve been known to make Autumn playlists filled exclusively with Vince Guaraldi’s work. I recommend you do the same.
  2. The jokes. The dry wit of Charles M. Schultz has never ceased to be funny to me. My husband and I sat down to watch It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown! together today and even though we’ve watched this multiple times in our lives, it’s still funny! “Never jump into a pile of leaves with a wet sucker,” and “Clearly we are separated by denominational differences,” were ones that struck us funny in particular during this viewing.
  3. The nostalgia. As I mentioned previously, the Peanuts characters embody childhood for me. This special represents everything Halloween should be–trick-or-treating, costumes, parties, and fun. It doesn’t have to be scary. It just has to be fun.

This is my sincere encouragement to you–tune in, pop in that DVD, or like me, dust off that VCR and watch It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!. It’s sure to put a smile on your face this Halloween season and it’s fun to share with your family and friends of any age. And remember, if you have the most sincere pumpkin patch, The Great Pumpkin will rise up from your pumpkin patch and leave toys for the good boys and girls.

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Animation, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

