Halloween TV Nostalgia

I love October. Fall is setting in. It’s finally not disgustingly hot outside here in humid Snoopy Fall is Beautiful
Carolina. Halloween is on the horizon. That last sentence gives me pause.

I love the fun of Halloween. I look for excuses to dress in costume. Also, October is an excuse to eat Count Chocula every day for breakfast. It seems like a good idea to me.

Halloween also brings a feeling of nostalgia to mind. Frankly, it doesn’t take much to make me nostalgic. I’m a self-professed and acutely diagnosed Retrophile. At Halloween, this means I pull out all my favorite Halloween specials, most of which I watch on my VCR. I’ve recorded many of them off TV over the years because they’re unavailable otherwise. What brings me nostalgia every year? Here’s a list.

  1. Disney’s Halloween Treat
  2. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!
  3. Scooby-Doo and the Witch’s Ghost

There are many others I watch as well, but these three make the cut every year. I always look for the Halloween specials from my favorite cartoons and shows as well. I plan to do some write-ups of my Halloween viewing. What are your favorites? What do you watch every year without fail?

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in DVD, Just For Fun, Movie, TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Halloween TV Nostalgia

  1. cwhitler says:

    Charlie Brown for sure. We are more movie people though. We try to watch a family movie every Sunday night. So far, for October, it’s been Paranorman and Coraline. Still to come Monster House and the old Disney Legend of Sleepy Hollow. We usually bring out Harry Potter this time of year too.

Leave a Reply

