TV Top 30, Day 04 – Your favorite show ever

The Big Bang Theory

Image courtesy of IMDB.com.

This is an easy one for me. My favorite TV show ever is The Big Bang Theory. My best pal, Stephanie, and my cousin Brickey introduced me to this show in 2009. Big Bang never ceases to make me laugh, and frankly, it looks like they asked to borrow all my t-shirts for the costumes.

The Big Bang Theory has extremely clever writing, a hilarious ensemble cast, and a commitment to scientific accuracy. I don’t know how many other shows actually keep an actual theoretical physicist on staff just so all their science jokes can be feasible, but The Big Bang Theory does. I watch the show just about every time it’s on the air.

The thing I think I appreciate the most about The Big Bang Theory though, is the era it helped usher in–the era of the nerd. I’ve been a nerd my entire life. I’ve been mocked and teased for it. I’ve been told that there are “no girl nerds,” thus making me feel even weirder about my nerdy interests. It never swayed me though. I’ve always been unabashedly nerdy. Why try to be anyone other than me? The Big Bang Theory has finally made it culturally acceptable to be a nerd and (dare I say it?), even cool. It also opened the door for me explore many other nerdy interests that I ended up loving too. Star TrekBattlestar Galactica, and Dungeons & Dragons are all by-products of my love for The Big Bang Theory.

What’s your favorite all time show? Do you love Big Bang as much as I do?

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
Image | This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TV Top 30, Day 04 – Your favorite show ever

  1. isobelayres says:

    Funnily enough, I don’t like the Big Bang Theory at all. The glory of nerdiness is confined to the male characters, and I find that problematic. Where are the girl nerds? Leslie Winkle was great, but she hasn’t been seen in forever. Now, we have Penny (who is not a nerd, and almost never gets involved with nerdy things, and mostly whines about Leonard being involved in nerdy things). We have Bernadette, a PHd, who mostly drinks wine with Penny, and whines about her husband. She’s not a nerd either. Amy is a massive nerd, but all she wants is to be with the cool girls, because there aren’t any female nerds, right? Her self-confidence is presented as comical (when she says she’s beautiful or sexy, we’re supposed to laugh at her) and her ‘reward’ is a non-sexual ‘relationship’, ’cause girl nerds aren’t sexy enough for the male nerds to want them. Except Sheldon, who doesn’t actually want her physically.

    So. The male nerd characters don’t want female nerds – they want cheerleaders. The female characters don’t enjoy Battlestar Galactica or Star Trek, they complain about their male partners liking these things. If you’re a male nerd – yay, great show! With added nerd-gets-the-popular-girl wish fulfilment. Can’t see that there’s anything much there for any female nerds watching, though. The show has two supposedly very intelligent female scientist characters, who never talk about science except in rare scenes with males. Not with each other – it’s all shoes, wine and the male characters. The show almost never passes the Bechdel test, either.

Leave a Reply

