3 Nerd TV Shows I’m Binging Right Now

Daredevil

Image Courtesy of IMDB.com

Summer has always been a great time to catch up on all the TV you missed last season. Now in the day of streaming services, it’s become a great time to catch up on all the shows you should have watched years ago, as well as current television. Here are 3 shows I’m currently digging.

  1. Daredevil. I’ve long been a Marvel girl, starting around age 6. However, Daredevil was never a character I really read up on. I am really regretting it now with the fantastic rendering of Daredevil Netflix has cooked up. I’ve not seen Charlie Cox in anything except Stardust, so this is a really fascinating departure for me. I’m loving the cast, and I’m fascinated by the darkness they’ve put in the series. Those who are more up on Daredevil lore than I can feel free to educate me on the level of darkness of the character in the comics. I’m only 3 episodes in, so I’ll let you know what I think when I finish the series.
  2. Buffy the Vampire Slayer. So, I’m a bad nerd and
    Buffy Cast

    Image Courtesy of IMDB.com

    never got around to watching Buffy when I was growing up. One of my best friends has been harassing me to watch Buffy since Buffy was ON THE AIR. I adore Joss Whedon, so I’m a bit on the embarrassed side to say I’ve never watched his first really successful work. I’m about halfway through the third season, and so far, I’ve found the dialogue witty, the characters interesting, and enjoyed the flashback to 90s fashion. I’m intrigued to see where the series goes. I’d also love to know if you all think I should watch Angel as well.

  3. Agents of S. H. I. E. L. D. Ryan and I got the discs
    Agents of S. H. I. E. L. D.

    Image Courtesy of IMDB.com

    for Agents of S. H. I. E. L. D. via Netflix, and finished it just before they put it on their streaming service. Irony, right? Unfortunately, this was also several weeks into the second season’s TV run and we were unable to catch up without getting spoiled. I was extremely excited to read on Clark Gregg’s twitter a couple weeks ago that the second season of S. H. I. E. L. D. would be making its appearance on Netflix June 11! I’m going to start a S. H. I. E. L. D. rewatch today! Now, if only they’ll add Agent Carter as well….

What are you watching? I’d love some more summer TV recommendations.

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 3 Nerd TV Shows I’m Binging Right Now

  1. M.G. Guyton says:

    Just started watching Sense8 on Netflix…loving it. If you haven’t heard about the clone club, please check out Orphan Blackon Amazon; I love talking about that show with people. Also, Silicon Valley on HBO is pretty good too.
    I loved loved loved Daredevil. The show is very well done and I was proud of the job Netflix did. I know a little about Daredevil because he is She-Hulk’s friend, but I am going to read the Daredevil run that Kevin Smith did to get more info on him. Great Post, thanks for sharing.

    • Great recommendations! I actually wrote a paper on Orphan Black last fall for class. Definitely one of the my favorites and probably one of the best, if not the best science fiction TV show on the air right now. No cable here, so I won’t be able to catch up on the current season until it hits DVD or Amazon streaming. Here’s hoping I don’t get spoiled!

      She-Hulk is definitely my favorite superhero, but I’ve not read all of her series. I’ve only read the original She-Hulk series and some of the funny 80s series. Had no idea she was buddies with Daredevil. Perhaps she’ll join the show?? 😀

      Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      • M.G. Guyton says:

        That would be great if we could she a bit of She-Hulk on the show and maybe even Elecktra. I know Angie Harmon would LOVE to be She-Hulk. Google Angie Harmon She-Hulk when you get a chance.

        I’m a cable cutter myself. I’m watching this current season of Orphan Black via Amazon Instant; you pay for the season and the episodes are available the day after they air…this season it is Sundays.

      • I feel silly that I never put it together that She-Hulk and Daredevil are buds–THEY’RE LAWYERS.

        *facepalm*

        Thanks for the recommendations. I’ll take a look at the Amazon streaming. 🙂

  2. IAmDonovan says:

    The Flash is good. It’s got the light feel of the first half of S1 of SHIELD and is super nerdy! It’s kind of cliché, but it’s got lovable characters.

    • I’ve heard lots of good things about The Flash. I want to watch Arrow first to get the set-up for Flash, so that’s also on my summer watch list. The lovable characters are what I really dig about S. H. I. E. L. D.! Definitely looking forward to the next season. Glad you’re enjoying those shows.

  3. Greg E says:

    I’m about 5 eps into daredevil and have enjoyed it so far! Also, I’m with you in looking forward to the season 2 release of SHIELD on Netflix. With your superhero affinity – Id be surprised if you haven’t watched The Flash. If you haven’t, you ma’am are missing out. Plenty of cameos from old Flash cast members, including a brilliant and amazing episode with Mark Hamill. The plot keeps you on the edge, and more than a handful of episodes would qualify as finale-worthy. Highly recommend, feel good and intriguing show. Much better than what the CW typically puts out, by far.

    Outside of the that, I’d highly recommend Turn on Netflix, especially if you dig stories from the revolutionary war era. Excellent acting, and based on a true story. All around solid.

    Good post!

    • M.G. Guyton says:

      I was thinking the same thing about watching Arrow first before watching the flash because of the tie-ins, is that not necessary in your opinion, Greg?

    • Flash is totally on my list, Greg, but I’m leaning towards watching Arrow first. I had no idea the old Flash cast members make appearances, so that’s fascinating to me–I remember the commercials for the old show when I was a kid.

      Ryan and I are both interested in watching Turn, as I enjoy revolutionary history, and he just enjoys history, ha!

      Thanks for the recommendations!

Leave a Reply

