Nerd News – 10/1/13

Who did it better--Kirk or Spock?

Who did it better–Kirk or Spock?

I’d like to make an attempt at weekly Nerd News here on the blog.  Check out what’s up in your favorite fandoms each Tuesday.  If you have some Nerd News you think ought to be shared, please send me a message via the Contact Form.  I’ll review it for approval and contact you if I share it.  Please include your website, if you’d like me to point readers back to you.  (I’m always happy to spread the link love around).  Without further ado, here’s this week’s Nerd News!

  • Government shutdown got you in the dumps?  Fear not; Captain Kirk is on the case.  Kudos to George Takei for always adding a little humor to my day.  And puns.  Oh Mylanta, the puns.
  • Brace yourself Star Wars fans!  Looks like some super nerds at MIT have just taken us one step closer to real-life lightsabers!  This will take cosplay up to a whole new level, and perhaps increase ER visits for dismemberment as well.
  • A new trailer for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug dropped last night.  Have you seen it?  What do you think?  You can view the trailer here.
  • Looking for some Halloween fun?  Dr. Amy Sturgis–Potter Pundit, Sherlock Scholar, Halloween Historian, among many other titles–has an excellent Halloween fest on her blog.  She updates daily during October with spooky stories, images, and links.  Amy is one of the kindest people I’ve ever met, not to mention, she’s my professor at Mythgard this semester.
  • Speaking of Halloween fun, check out the Countdown to Halloween for some scary shenanigans from all around the web for the month of October.
  • I’ve been featured as a guest blogger on one of my new favorite places on the web, The Retroist.  If you’re a vintage gaming fan, read about my memories with the Magnavox Odyssey2.  Retroist is a great place to follow, especially around Halloween, for great nerdy nostalgia.  He has an excellent podcast to go along with it as well.  I plan to write more for The Retroist in the future.
  • I’ve created a Facebook fan page for my blog and writing services.  If you’re on Facebook, do me a solid and like my page!

Did I miss anything from the past week?  Leave a comment and share the link love with everyone here.

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Books, Just For Fun, Movie, Nerd News, Websites and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

