Justice is Served

If you know me at all, you know I’m not the kind of girl who sits down to watch a chick flick 99% of the time.  It’s not that I don’t like romantic comedies, they’re simply not my first choice.  The majority of my favorite films are rooted somewhere in the areas of science fiction/fantasy/superhero or some combination of all of the above–The Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Harry Potter, Batman, etc.  The common thread all of these possess–action.  I love action movies.  Watching the hero/heroine kick butt and take names really pumps me up.  It thrills me to no end to watch the villain get his just desserts.    I love it when justice is finally served.

Over the weekend, I watched Die Hard for the very first time.  (I know, I know, I’m almost 25 years behind.  Hush).  I loved it.  It has all the classic tropes of a quality action film.  Strong, fearless hero, super evil villain, and even better, a non-traditional, refused-to-be-intimidated leading lady.  As much as I love Alan Rickman and his ability to totally encompass any role, the best part for me was his defeat.  It was so vindicating to see justice done.

I’ve been thinking–why do I love seeing the bad guy get it in the end?  Why is that so satisfying?  For me, it’s seeing a wrong righted.  It’s not a matter of vengeance per say, but that some one who had done something to harm another was stopped.  The pain was stopped.  The wrong doing was stopped.  They got what was coming to them.  God wants that too.

The prophet Amos wrote the Words the Lord spoke to him in his book, “But let justice roll down like waters, and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream” (5:24).  (You may also recognize these words from a speech by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.).  Job, even in his suffering said that God would not “pervert justice” (Job 34:12).  (If I had boils all over me, lost all my possessions, wealth, health, and family, I don’t think I’d say that).  Jesus Christ is the embodiment of God’s justice.  Matthew hearkens to the the prophet Isaiah saying that the Christ has come to “proclaim justice to the Gentiles.”  Jesus crossed boundaries no others would, healing the sick, hanging out with those who were “unclean,” sinful, and undesirable, setting them above those who would have isolated them.  As Todd Agnew put it, Jesus hung out with “thieves, sluts, and liars.”  His love spoke justice to them.  He vindicated them of their sin and exacted his justice on “those who need no repentance” (Luke 15:7).

It seems clear to me the Lord delights in seeing justice served.  In His Name, all wrongs shall be righted, those hurt will be lifted up, and justice will indeed be served.

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Movie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

