Pottercast Packs a Punch

Hello, Nerdy Bloggers!

I come to you today proudly flying my Geek Flag high.  Quite literally, actually—as I write this, I’m flying home from a business trip.  As is no surprise to most anyone reading this, I am quite the Harry Potter geek.  What may be slightly less apparent is that I am a giant, Godzilla-sized podcast geek also.  I subscribe to about 10 or so podcasts and occasionally take to listening to literature and theology classes via iTunes U.  Fortunately for me, two of my favorite things coincide—Harry Potter fandom and podcasts.  Today, I’d like to take some time to talk about a favorite of mine, Pottercast.

[Note: I may be preaching to the choir with this post (as I would wager that the majority of the HP fans that read my blog already subscribe to Pottercast), however, I am always interested in giving props to a movie, book, show, album, or podcast that I feel is relevant to my subject area and that I find noteworthy.]

Pottercast is the podcast of the popular Harry Potter fan site, The Leaky Cauldron.  I began listening to Pottercast some months back when they began running a segment entitled, Potter Pundits, featuring the likes of Travis Prinzi, John Granger, and James Thomas.  I’ve followed Travis and John for some time through their books and their blogs, The Hog’s Head and Hogwarts Professor, respectively.  Having a great affinity for solid Harry Potter discussion, I immediately subscribed and began tuning in.  What I got from the podcast was much greater than that.

Pottercast treats the listener not only to some good, serious discussion of the novels through their pundits segment, but also interjects Harry Potter news, fandom updates, movie and book analysis, interviews with the HP stars (not to mention, J. K. Rowling), and just plain, good ole laughter.  The hosts, Melissa Anelli (webmistress of The Leaky Cauldron), John Noe (namesake of Dawlish), and Frankie Franko (aka Frak) have fantastic chemistry and play extremely well off of each other.  What impressed me the most about the podcast was that the hosts did not just banter about aimlessly, as so many podcasts are apt to do.  The playfulness is just right, without being too corny or off-topic.  The discussions are spot-on, and yet inflected with just the right amount of humor.  The diversity of segments offered in the show provides something interesting to just about any listener.

I would strongly recommend Pottercast to any serious Harry Potter fan out there. The show is witty and is a great place to find news, information, commentary, and serious Harry Potter discussion.   Overall, I give The Leaky Cauldron’s, Pottercast, a two thumbs up on the Nerdy Blogger scale.

Got a podcast that you would recommend?  Know of other up-and-coming sites or blogs that might be of interest here?  Please post them in the comments and explain why you think they’re great.  I’d love the hear them.

Blessings,

Nerdy Blogger

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Podcast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pottercast Packs a Punch

  1. NCompass says:

    Unfortunately, since you wrote this plug, the Pottercast regular crew (no Granger or Prinzi in sight thankfully) issued a truly demoralizing, immoral, evil podcast for Valentine’s Day, called “Good Ship Bad Ship,” referring to HP relationships. This was the first Pottercast I had ever listened to, and I was badly soured on Pottercast, LeakyCon and even a bit on HP and JKR. I have spent a lot of time and energy defending against the Harry Haters based on my appreciation of John Granger’s brilliant analysis, supported by Mark Shea and others. But to hear a podcast that starts with a recorded endorsement by JKR followed by a laconic sort of game where the hosts evaluate not only the canonical pairings or “ships” such as Harry-Cho, but also casually discuss various immoral, deviant, and worse pairings suggested by the darker HP fan fiction and current sexual mores–it was disgusting and completely inappropriate. These are not good people to be influencing your kids or yourself. And they run an entire HP conference (LeakyCon) for your kids. Before this, I was going to go for the first time, but they’ve lost me. I’m looking for other HP conferences run by better human beings, or at least human beings better able to draw out the beauty of the books and not twist them into something ugly and false.

Leave a Reply

