Book Review: A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller

Several people I know have read Donald Miller’s more famous works, Blue Like Jazz, Searching For God Knows What, etc….I wasn’t one of those people.  I didn’t know much about him other than that most people I knew really liked, no, loved his writings.  I figured I probably would, too, but let’s just be honest.  I’m not much on nonfiction.  I think there are loads of wonderful nonfiction books out there, and the ones I have read have been great for my life, but I’d much rather spend my time reading a good fantasy story.

I made an exception in this case.  My fabulous fiancé, Ryan, gifted me A Million Miles in a Thousand Years for Christmas this past year saying, “As a writer and a person, I think you’ll like this book.”  And he was right.  In this novel, Miller looks at the building blocks of good writing and storytelling, detailing the problems and processes of writing the screenplay to the upcoming film for Blue Like Jazz, and tells great stories of everything happening along the way.  As a writer, seeing the writing process dissected under the microscope was very enriching.  Ryan is now one for one.

I think one thing I really took away from the novel, as it is more like a cohesive collection of short stories, rather than one longer story, is living a life that is a good story.  I feel like I probably spend most of my life running from one thing to the next, never stopping to think much about what I’m doing.  I read the majority of this book in one sitting yesterday and when I finished, I had to stop and just weep.  I have goals in my life that I want to accomplish in the next couple of years and in my current situation, I need to do a lot more to make them happen.  As a person, I haven’t been moved by a book this much in quite a while.  I’m eager to get my hands on Miller’s other works to see what he has to say in those.  Ryan is now two for two.  He knows me pretty well.  🙂

Having not read Miller’s other works, I can’t comment on how this one does in comparison, but if they are are half as good as this one (which I’ve heard they are), I am in for a real treat.

If you’d like some fresh perspective on how to kick your life int0 high gear, check out A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.  Try it.  If you don’t like it, you can always go back to your old way of doing things.  🙂  I give Donald Miller’s newest offering two thumbs up on the Nerdy Blogger scale.

Blessings,

Nerdy Blogger

About The Nerdy Blogger

Ashley Whitehead Thomas is The Nerdy Blogger. She holds a B. A. in English Literature from Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee and began her M. A. at Signum University in Spring 2013. Ashley blogs, reads, writes (for fun and for hire), and spends time with her husband, Ryan, and their two cat-monsters, Luna and Oliver.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

